Cigar Recommendations

Even cigar smokers are welcome here
plainview
Congregation
Congregation

Cigar Recommendations

Post by plainview » Sun Oct 01, 2017 2:54 pm

Lately, I've been thinking about gently wading into the cigar waters. But I am just not sure where to start. I'd really like to sample a variety of cigars simply to get my footing. I am also up to making my own tupperdor. Would anyone care to offer up some cigar recommendations to a complete novice? Also, I'd like to read your successful tupperdor stories and build ideas.

Thank you.

hugodrax
All Around Nice Guy
All Around Nice Guy

Re: Cigar Recommendations

Post by hugodrax » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:05 pm

plainview wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 2:54 pm
Lately, I've been thinking about gently wading into the cigar waters. But I am just not sure where to start. I'd really like to sample a variety of cigars simply to get my footing. I am also up to making my own tupperdor. Would anyone care to offer up some cigar recommendations to a complete novice? Also, I'd like to read your successful tupperdor stories and build ideas.

Thank you.
I'm not an expert bit I can tell you what I do and hope it helps, Sir. For a tupperdore, well, you just get a Tupperware container big enough for some cigars and get a couple of sheets of that thin cedar they line the boxes with. Put one on the bottom and one in between the layers of cigars. Buy a boveda packet at 65-70 percent humidity and throw it in. Close the lid. Open it every week or so for five minutes to let it breathe. Don't put acid cigars in with the others. Actually, don't buy Acid cigars.

As to sampler packs, the best deal I've found is the five in a bag things sold by cigar stockists. They put good cigars in em and knock off a few bucks on the price. Sometimes you even get a boveda packet in the bag. Perdomo seems to do this a lot around here.