What does a pipe smoker look like?

The part of the church where the silliest things happen. Conversations that sound like they belong in the youth room will be moved here.
Irish-Dane
I'm a pro at tobacco canning

What does a pipe smoker look like?

Post by Irish-Dane » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:10 pm

Chip and I met up with some fellow CPS members last Sunday for dinner. We arrived before them, and as we waited we pondered how we'd know them when they came in since we'd never met them. A group of 4 guys were led to their seat and they looked like they could be pipe smokers. Two of them had beards, one guy was very gruff looking, and the other was somewhat dignified. They turned out not being our dinner partners, but it did spark up the conversation.

To people that don't smoke a pipe, there must be a stigma about those that do; it's human nature to stereotype people. Things like bikers have long beards and tattoos, pastors wear suits and backwards collars, college kids have constant bed-head and smell of beer. Even though those might be accurate descriptions of some people in those clans, we all know they don't describe every individual who partakes of those things.

So my question is, before you smoked a pipe, what was your image of a pipe smoker? And how do you feel about those thoughts now? Are any of them accurate in relation to you or your pipe smoking friends?

GScott
Geezer "Juxtaposition" Extraordinaire
Geezer "Juxtaposition" Extraordinaire

Post by GScott » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:23 pm

mountainman
Order of the Purple Moon
Order of the Purple Moon

Post by mountainman » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:29 pm

:pipe3: Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.
The old pipe gives the sweetest smoke.

Gregor
Brother of the Briar
Brother of the Briar

Post by Gregor » Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:34 pm

I'm thinking on your question, but had to ask, since I was one of them coming to meet you. Did any of us fit your mental picture? There, put you on the spot.

PhilioG