Impressed by my experience at Iwan Reis

Open forum for all subject for smokers in general
stoshdwalsh
Congregation
Congregation

Impressed by my experience at Iwan Reis

Post by stoshdwalsh » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:30 pm

As I’m new to pipe smoking and upon learning that Iwan Reis is only about 45 minutes from my house, I decided to make a trip there this morning and then spend some time at the Art Institute, which is only 2 blocks away.

Really glad I did. I know it’s a well known shop that has been around forever, but I don’t think I can recall having had such a personalized experience buying anything. I spent about 1.5 hours there with Douglas, who walked me through selecting my 2nd pipe (ended up with a nice Jonas estate pipe-pic below), and then had me use it to sample about 5 different tobaccos, landing on a favorite (Pirate Kake), and taking home a 2 oz sample of another blend I liked on the house.

Many things I loved about the experience—no condescension toward a new pipe smoker, pointed out several flaws in pipes and why he wouldn’t recommend I purchase them, asked about tastes and styles in terms of both pipes and tobaccos, and actually sold me the cheapest pipe I was considering instead of up selling or pushing house products.

Recommend the shop highly for anyone who is local or visiting, and as 50% of their business is online, would love to see them supported by others, as the city tax is supposed to go up to something like 36% soon, which will likely hamper walk in business considerably.

mont974x4
Tim
Tim

Re: Impressed by my experience at Iwan Reis

Post by mont974x4 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:39 pm

stoshdwalsh wrote:As I’m new to pipe smoking and upon learning that Iwan Reis is only about 45 minutes from my house, I decided to make a trip there this morning and then spend some time at the Art Institute, which is only 2 blocks away.