Sola Scriptura=Unconditional Election?

For those deep thinkers out there.

Moderator: tuttle

colton
Spiffy Enough
Spiffy Enough

Sola Scriptura=Unconditional Election?

Post by colton » Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:49 pm

This post hit on something I've been mulling around for awhile. It seems that the logical conclusion to sola scriptura is unconditional election (i.e. Calvinism). But, I'm far from an expert in this area, so I would like to hear responses from people who belong to denominations that do not accept unconditional election but are also not Catholic. (Catholics and Calvinists feel free to jump in and correct errors, but I'm pretty sure I already understand your positions.) I'm not really looking for discussion, especially since those have been getting a little crazy lately; I want to know what your denomination has to say about this:

The argument as I understand it:
If scripture is God's only infallible revelation (sola scriptura), then it cannot be validated except by itself, which is circular, so it cannot be validated at all. If we were to validate it by any other means (history, logical cohesion, etc.), we would be introducing a mechanism other than scripture, which is not from God, and thus not reliable. So, the only way to be sure of scripture's validity is for the Holy Spirit to open one's eyes. Experience in life tells us that the Spirit does not do this for everyone, so the logical conclusion is unconditional election.

So, sola scriptura = unconditional election.

I understand the Catholic perspective on this (sacred tradition of which scripture is a part), but what about the Protestants who do accept sola but don't believe in unconditional election? The above argumentation seems air-tight to me, that is, if you accept its tenants, and if you don't accept the tenants, I don't see any way to accept sola. How do you folks see the issue?